Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

Nine Medical School faculty receive EBS teaching awards

April 5, 2017

The Endowment for Basic Sciences (EBS) Operating Committee on March 6 honored nine Medical School faculty members for excellence in classroom teaching, mentoring, and leadership in the advancement of the teaching…

ABPMR board elects R. Van Harrison, PhD

March 17, 2017

In January 2017 the American Board of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (ABPMR) elected Professor of Learning Health Sciences R. Van Harrison, PhD to become its first public board member on the previously all-physiatrist board. Harrison was chosen for the three-year term not only for his extensive national board and committee service, but because of his vast knowledge in continuing medical education and quality improvement in physician performance, experience he can apply to ABPMR\'s Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program.

Dr. Wojtys receives Jack Hughston Sports Physician Award

February 23, 2017

Congratulations to Edward Wojtys, M.D., professor of orthopaedic surgery, for receiving the 2017 Jack C. Hughston Sports Physician Award from the American Physical Therapy Association\'s Sports Physical Therapy Section. The organization presents the award annually to one physician from the Sports Physical Therapy Section who has made a distinguished contribution in sports physical therapy. Congratulations!

Sherry Craft, MS, RD retires from PFANS

February 17, 2017

Sherry Craft, MS, RD will be retiring in April after more than 25 years of dedicated service to Patient Food and Nutrition Services (PFANS). A retirement party for Sherry will be held on Friday, February 24th from 1:30-3:00pm in University Hospital (UH) room 2C224. Remarks will begin at 1:45pm.

Two from Pharmacology elected to ASPET leadership posts

February 16, 2017

The American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics (ASPET) has elected Margaret E. Gnegy, Ph.D., as 2017 secretary/treasurer-elect and Alan Smrcka, Ph.D., as 2017 councilor. Gnegy is associate chair and both are professors in the Department of Pharmacology. They will begin their terms on July 1. ASPET is a 5,000-member scientific society whose members conduct basic and clinical pharmacological research and work for academia, government, large pharmaceutical companies, small biotech companies, and non-profit organizations.

Two Pharmacology faculty members elected to lead ASPET!

February 15, 2017

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Peggy Gnegy, who has been elected 2017 Secretary/Treasurer-Elect, and Dr, Alan Smrcka, who has been elected 2017 Councilor, of the American Society for Pharmacology and Therapeutics. They will begin their terms on July 1. Go Blue!

Kendra Huiskens Receives 2016 Gerald O’Connor Award

February 8, 2017

Congratulations to Kendra Huiskens, physical therapist clinical specialist at University of Michigan MedSport, for receiving the 2016 Gerald O'Connor Award! The award is given annually to a colleague who demonstrates excellence in patient care or customer service, teamwork, selfless effort, dedication to the profession and a never-ending desire to improve themselves. The award was created to honor Gerald O’Connor, M.D., and his exemplary legacy for the MedSport Sports Medicine Program. Kendra's colleagues said: “Kendra Huiskens is a PT Clinical Specialist at MedSport @ The Ice Cube and has been with U-M for just over 8 years. Kendra demonstrates and exceeds…

MedSport Staff Recognized for Service Excellence

February 8, 2017

Congratulations to MedSport staff members who were recently recognized for their continuous demonstration of the MedSport Vision for Service Excellence! Congratulations to: - Christy Lemke from MedSport at Brighton Health Center - Tom Flanagan from MedSport at Northville Health Center - Phil Herzog from MedSport at The Ann Arbor Ice Cube - Susan Brimacombe from MedSport at Domino’s Farms - Tyler Bolley from MedSport at Domino’s Farms - Aries Haeflinger from MedSport at Domino’s Farms

Dr. Wojtys Named 2017 Knee Surgeons to Know

January 20, 2017

Congratulations to Edward Wojtys, M.D., professor of orthopaedic surgery. He has been named one of “106 knee surgeons to know in 2017” by Becker’s ASC Review. The list contains leading knee surgeons from across the country. To see the full list, please visit: