Accolades and Milestones

RSS Feed

Cardiology Fellow Receives Prestigious AMA Foundation Leadership Award

June 8, 2017

Shashank S. Sinha, MD, MSc, has been awarded the prestigious 2017 American Medical Association Foundation Leadership Award. As an honorary recipient, he will attend the Excellence in Medicine Awards celebration and dedicated Leadership Award educational programming held in conjunction with the American Medical Association’s annual meeting in Chicago, June 8 –10, 2017. Dr. Sinha is a fourth-year general cardiology fellow at the University of Michigan and a second-year research fellow funded by a National Institutes of Health T32 postdoctoral training grant at the U-M Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation. He served as the 2015-2016 Chair of the American College of…

Kim Eagle, M.D. receives Rotary Club’s Distinguished Service Award

June 7, 2017

Kim A. Eagle, M.D., Albion Walter Hewlett Professor of Internal Medicine, professor of health management and policy at the School of Public Health and director of the Frankel Cardiovascular Center, received…

Retirement Celebration for Stephanie Minerath, MSN, RN

June 5, 2017

Join us in celebrating Stephanie’s Career and Contributions at University of Michigan Health System! Friday, June 23, 2017 1:30 – 3:30 PM (Program begins at 2 PM) University Hospital Cafeteria Dining Rooms C & D For questions please contact Judy Bliss at 734-615-3767 or by emailing

U-M’s Tyson Kim wins Bio Innovation Cup

May 25, 2017

A smartphone device that screens for diabetic retinopathy, the leading cause of preventable blindness among Americans, was chosen by a panel of investors as the winning project at Fast Forward Medical…

UMMS featured in Chronicle of Higher Education story

May 9, 2017

Rajesh S. Mangrulkar, M.D., the Medical School’s associate dean for medical student education and the Marguerite S. Roll Professor of Medical Education, is quoted in the April 30 Chronicle of Higher…

Dr. Robert Werner Retiring From PM&R

April 26, 2017

Robert Werner, MD, Professor of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation and chief of the physical medicine and rehabilitation service at the Ann Arbor VA Medical Center (AAVAMC), will be retiring May 1, 2017. In 1993, Dr. Werner took over as chief of service at the VA and built PM&R there, contributing greatly to resident education, especially in EMG. He also directed the VA portion of the multidisciplinary pain fellowship housed in anesthesia. Dr. Werner's research interests include electromyography, pain management and industrial/occupational rehabilitation. He has over 100 publications in peer reviewed journals and has been successful in receiving grant funding from…

Daniel Fischer farewell

April 17, 2017

Dan Fischer, Interim Director of Social Work and the Director of Child and Family Life, Spiritual Care and Mott Community Relations, will soon be leaving the health system to join the faculty at the University of Michigan School of Social Work as Clinical Assistant Professor and Assistant Dean for Field Education. In this new position, Dan will lead the Office of Field Instruction which oversees internship training of all UMSSW graduate social work students, and collaborate with other Schools of Social Work and the Council on Social Work Education to develop future initiatives related to social work field education. Dan…

Kathy Rhodes, PhD, RDN wins 2017 Outstanding Preceptor Award

April 7, 2017

Kathy Rhodes has been selected as a recipient of a 2017 Outstanding Preceptor Award. This award is granted by the Nutrition and Dietetic Educators and Preceptors (NDEP) Practice Group and the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Foundation. This award, funded by the Academy Foundation, is intended to recognize Kathy for the vital contributions she has made to the profession and to the education of future dietetic practitioners. As one of only seven awardees chosen from many nominations all across the country, she is truly the best of the best! Kathy and her nutrition staff have precepted in the U-M School…

2017 Burton Krumholz Lifetime Legacy Award (ASCCP)

April 7, 2017

Hope K. Haefner, M.D., professor of obstetrics and gynecology received the 2017 Burton Krumholz Lifetime Legacy Award from the American Society for Colposcopy and Cervical Pathology (ASCCP). The award honors her contributions to the image archive of diseases affecting the lower genital tract.